Archive | 8:43 am

Bug Damaged Yarn (eewwwww!)

22 Jul

Quick, hide your babies! By babies, I mean your lovely yarn stash.

I recently got a very large package of coned yarn that had a fair amount of bug damage from an ebay seller that will remain anonymous. Not only did the bugs eat through the entire cone, I found dead casings and even found one squirming bug that I quickly killed with my thumbnail. Ew ew ew ew!

Now, there were no mention of bugs or damage in the Ebay listing so I was pretty pissed. 15-17 pounds of yarn and they all got bugs. CRAP!!! Where did this woman store these yarns – in her barn or something?

The Ebay seller was nice enough to refund me the entire amount, minus the $70 in postage (I know, seriously. Has this person never heard of UPS or Parcel post before? Who sends a 20 pound box via Priority Mail across the country?)

For a person like me who has more yarn than most yarn shops, any hint of bugs and I go nuts. What if the bugs get to any of my stash? That’s a real fear and I try my best to keep my yarn room clean and bug-free.

Luckily, due to the box being so heavy and large, I had opened this buggy package out in the garage so the bugs never had a chance to even set foot in the house.

Normally, I would just chuck all of this into the trash but here’s the thing. These were REALLY nice luxury blend yarns….with you guessed it…cashmere. (not to mention the $70 out of pocket postage I paid for all of it) What’s a girl to do?

I’ve bagged them all in a vaccuum bag, threw in a ton of mothballs (die, you mofos, die!!!) and they have been sitting there in my garage for several days now. I’ll take them out one by one, skein any that’s salvedgeable and then boil all the skeins and let dry in the summer sun. That should get rid of the mothball smell as well as kill any remaining remnants. I guess these won’t be going in my regular stash.

Sheesh, you gotta stay vigilant and Ebay is just one big minefield.